INTERVENT: CCA Members Employee Wellness Showcase

INTERVENT-CompassLifestyle Management Programs for Compass Group

Compass Group is a large food service management and support services company. INTERVENT International (INTERVENT; www.myintervent.com), a global population health management company, provides Health Risk Assessment (HRA) and lifestyle management programs for Compass Group’s U.S.-based business sectors. 

Since 2010, Compass Group associates enrolled in a medical plan have received a weekly wellness credit toward their health plan premiums for completing the HRA. Beginning in 2013, associates receive an additional weekly wellness credit if their spouses/domestic partners who are on the medical plan also complete the HRA.NEWM_2013_Supporter_Logo_f

Participation in and completion of INTERVENT’s programs have continued to increase over time. Between November, 2012 and June 2013, over 26,000 individuals completed the HRA and over 5,000 individuals enrolled in INTERVENT’s lifestyle management programs. INTERVENT has been especially successful in engaging Spanish-speaking participants.

The aim of Compass Group’s wellness program is to improve health, productivity and quality of life. Positive changes in multiple health risk factors have produced impressive health care-related savings and positive ROIs. Additionally, results of participant satisfaction surveys have been very positive. On average, participants rated the INTERVENT program as “excellent” and indicated they would recommend the INTERVENT program to others.

Compass Group received a Gold Award for 2013 from the National Business Group on Health for its health and wellness programs. This marks Compass Group’s fourth consecutive year as an award recipient.

INTERVENT supplements the incentives provided by Compass Group by holding frequent raffles. A recent winner made this comment: “It’s great that Compass makes this program (lifestyle health coaching) available to us free. I enrolled because I knew I needed to get my health back on track. My coach is great. She considers my preferences and motivates me to stay focused on my health goals. The INTERVENT reports tell me where I need to be in terms of my risk factors. I couldn’t do this on my own and my doctor doesn’t have time to help me (with my lifestyle) in the same way that my coach does.”

INTERVENT’s services for Compass Group participants were recently enhanced through a collaborative initiative with the American College of Cardiology’s CardioSmart@Work program (www.cardiosmart.org). “We are excited about the new CardioSmart initiative with INTERVENT because it provides added assistance in achieving an important goal — helping our associates and their families to get healthy and stay healthy,” said Robert Kovacs, VP Total Rewards for Compass Group.

Please leave your thoughts

